Set in northern Minnesota, this novel follows a trio of American Indian women from the 1970's to the present, observing their coming of age and the intersection of their lives as they navigate love, economic hardship, loss, and changing family dynamics of the fictional Mozhay Point reservation. Moving between past and present, the Native and non-Native, history and myth, and tradition and survival, Linda LeGarde Grover connects the sense of place with the experience of Native women during the days of the Federal termination policy and the struggle for tribal self-determination.


Linda LeGarde Grover is associate professor of American Indian studies at the University of Minnesota-Duluth and a member of the Bois Forte band of Ojibwe. She has received the Flannery O’Connor Award and the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, whose previous recipients include Ann Patchett, Anne Tyler, and Toni Morrison. The Road Back to Sweetgrass was awarded the Native Writers Circle of the Americans First Book Award.

The Road Back to Sweet Grass



    202 W 2nd st

    Duluth MN, 55802

    Tel: 1(218) 590 - 3305


    web design by Jazmin Wong